Oil free papads

I am the biggest fan of Kerala papads or “pappadams”. I don’t think any other can compete with them ever. They are just crisp salty crunchy fragile perfections. However, they have to be deep fried and there is no way around that. They are also not good for an overweight person to crunch down on.

So to my rescue comes “Mother’s recipe” papads. These come in many types and flavors but I usually go for “punjabi masala papad” or “moong dal papad” and I just dry roast them in the microwave. It is easy, just spread them out in the microwave without overlapping and switch on. According to the power, and the quality, it may take different timings, so the practical way is just to watch them from the oven door. Once it all looks cooked with tiny bubbles all over (it may brown slightly), just switch it off noting the time. It may take as little as 30 seconds or 1 minute. So keep watching… and eat without guilt! 🙂

Leave a comment